• Bhaktivedanta Cultural Center

    International Society for Krishna Consciousness


  • 100 S Weber Dr Chandler, AZ 85226
    Phone (480) 705-4900

    Founder Acarya His Divine Grace
    A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada
  • Japa Chanting


    Siksa Program

    japaThe Siksa Program is designed to mark a devotee’s progress in spiritual development. The program has 5 levels, gradually leading to initiation.


    The program is intended to be an encouragement to those who are seriously interested in spiritual advancement. As each person is an individual, so is the time it takes to advance thought the levels. Some may advance very quickly, while others advance slowly. It should be recognized that this step-by-step process is a gradual approach to learning bhakti yoga. It is the individual advancement, rather than the speed at which one goes through the levels that is important. Typically, it takes about a year to traverse all 5 levels.

    5 Levels

    • 1] Sraddhavan: Chanting at least one round of Hare Krishna per day and reading Srila Prabhupada’s books;
    • 2] Krishna-sevaka: Chanting at least 4 rounds of japa, refraining from meat- eating, recognizing Lord Krishna as the Supreme Personality of Godhead, and avoiding grossly immoral acts.
    • 3] Krishna-sadhaka: Chanting at least 8 rounds and practicing sadhana-bhakti by worshiping Krishna at home and eating only prasadam. Refraining from intoxication, meat eating, gambling, and extra-marital sex.
    • 4] Srila Prabhupada-asraya: Chanting 16 rounds, following the 4 regulative principals, consistently practicing sadhana.
    • 5] Sri Guru-carana-asrya: Practicing Srila Prabhupada- asraya standard for a minimum of six months, with additional faith in and surrender to an ISKCON initiating spiritual master.